Below you will find the programme for the track energy. Check this site regularly as new speakers will be added.

Please feel free to join the discussion on the major topics for Milestones in Metrology IV! Suggestions are welcome. Meet us online at LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook, or send an email to



Download the full programme in PDF

Wednesday 9 May 2012

 Time Subject Speaker
 14.00 Opening Mr Giovanni Bendistinto
 (NMi Italia)
 OIML Environmental issues Mr Peter Mason (OIML)
 The history of Weights & Measures
 from Galileo to 2012
 Professor Giampaolo
 (Padova University)
 The backstage of a smart metering roll out Mr Gianni Ceneri (Enel)
 Deployment of 13 million smart meters - 
 a further step towards smart grids
 Mrs Rocio Millan (Endesa)
 Periodical verification of liquid (and gas)
 measuring installations in Italy
 Dr. Paolo Francisco
 (Ministero dello
 Sviluppo Economico)
 18.00  Evening programme


Thursday 10 May 2012

 Time Subject Speaker
 09.00 Welcome
 Electrical transport and loading structure –
 EU standard
 Mr Andre Postma (Enexis)
 EU smart meter market overview Mr Max Ambrosi
 (Pietro Fiorentini)
 Introduction to the Chines type approval
 process for electricity meters
 Mr Zhu Jian Ping
 NoBoMet added value for market and Welmec Mr Pieter van Breugel
 Chairman NoBoMet)

 New technologies and solutions for gas
 meter advanced metering structures
 Mr Sergio Rogai
 Inside CEN 237 European Standards on Gas Smart
 meter additional functionalities
 Mr Eligio Bertoli
 (CPL Concordia)
 IEC standards in motion Mr Bruno Ricciardi
 (Landis + Gyr)
 Workshop Energy Mr Giovanni Bendistinto
 (NMi Italia)
 17.30  Evening programme


Friday 11 May 2012

 Time Subject Speaker
 09.00 Welcome
 Exploitation of Internationally accepted IT
 security standards for legal metrology
 Mr Dieter Richter (PTB)
 OIML and the use of IEC standards, EMC
 testing for smart meters
 Mr George Teunisse
 Low frequency range 2-150kHz, practical
 experiences and test possibilities
 Mr Henri Schouten
 (NMi Certin)
 Metrology in the internet era Prof. Dr. Ir. Erik Fledderus
 Voting for the future Mr Arjan van Breukelen
 (NMi Certin)
 13.00  Farewell lunch


Follow us